One Step at a time

Read this article yesterday in our local newspaper, The National, and was surprised that even in a country with one of the strongest Muslim populations, Egypt, actually had a ban on female presenters wearing the hijab ! As today is World Hijab Day, I just wanted to give a big salute to all the Muslim women that are struggling with their decision to wear a hijab, and for those against all odds who have put it on, and still have to face obstacles and struggles within their communities, work and social circles.

Even women that do wear the hijaab in Muslim countries do face criticism and skepticism in certain areas of employment, so for all the hijabi sisters in Western countries, please know that you are not alone. Yes, we are the ones pulled aside for security checks at the airport, and yes, we’ve all been asked if we ‘feel hot’ with it on, but this is a personal struggle between us and our obligations as a Muslim woman. This is our jihad.

I won’t deny and say I haven’t had one of those days where every now and then I just want to walk out my door, where like a Pantene advert, I’m swishing and swaying my hair out. Keeping our hair and our body covered can sometimes be difficult especially when everywhere you go, there’s not one form of media that shows a beautiful hijabi. But, that’s just a thought, a tiny thought, and as soon as I start to wrap my face with that cloth that signifies me as a Muslimah, I see my true beauty from within. And there’s no media, no magazine, no TV show, that can give me the peace that I have within, knowing that I am representing a beautiful religion, and that this personal sacrifice, isn’t really a sacrifice, if all it does is bring me closer to my Creator.

Keep your head up, stand tall, and wear that hijaab proudly ! Happy World Hijab Day !

Leave a Reply

