A Fresh Start

Turning Point

Assalam Alaikum and Ramadan Kareem everyone. Some of us have anxiously waited for this Holy Month to get ourselves ‘grounded’ to the reality of Dunya by indulging our efforts into prayers and readings of the Holy Qur’aan. Some might even try turning a new leaf, moving away from the regular temptations, and many of you might even try fasting for the very first time. Whatever it may be, use this month as a reminder to yourself to ask yourself why you have been placed here. 

Before I started to wear the hijab on a full-time basis, I remember toying with the idea of how it would look on me, if it ‘suited’ me, but asides from anything I just wanted to do more soul-searching. I found that Ramadan was the only month that I could really use as motivation to say my 5 daily prayers, reduce listening to music and to really spend time with family. I remember one particular Ramadan I had decided to try the hijab for the entire month. It was exciting to me because I never really thought that the hijab could be a part of my lifestyle. I learnt different ways of covering myself and I loved the difference I felt when dealing with other Muslim brothers and sisters. There was a sense of unity that I suddenly felt with this extra piece of clothing on my head.

As with everything, Ramadan came to an end, and my experimentation with the hijab also ended. I went back to my skinny jeans, tight tops and heels. It was only a matter of time when some of my clients that saw me covered in Ramadan, now saw me as my regular old self. I particularly remember these friends that walked into the store and whispered in arabic, “What in Ramadan she covers and now she doesn’t ?” As I overheard their conversation, I just brushed off my annoyance at their comments.

Two Ramadans after, I finally decided to wear the hijab for good. I’ve had close friends tease me about wearing the hijab only during Ramadan, I’ve even heard strangers point out their opinions. Luckily for me, I didn’t falter and decided to make a serious change in my life. A change of good for good. Am I a perfect Muslimah ? Nope ! Who is?

What I do know is that I try. Even when I fall, and I’ve fallen hard on my faith plenty of times, I just remind myself to get back up and use my energy on praying and asking for Allah’s mercy upon me.

I used the month of Ramadan as a month to change, to achieve that turning point that I felt I couldn’t do during the rest of the 11 months of the year. So please brothers and sisters, if you can’t say anything nice, then just keep your opinions to yourselves. There is too much negativity in this world. Use your tongue to support, not criticize. Use your actions as a guidance, not as an attack.

Support those around you that are turning a new leaf. Inshallah, Allah will give them the guidance to continue their good actions even after this Holy Month is over. And for those of you that are trying to better yourselves this Ramadan, do not give up and do not give in. There is a reason why Ramadan is considered a blessed month. People genuinely want to do good and want to be good. God has blessed us with this beautiful month so that we can let our goodness shine.

Do not allow anyone to take that away from you.

May Allah accept our fasts, duas, prayers and good deeds during this Blessed Month.

Leave a Reply

