#WhyILeft Reflections on Leaving an Abusive Relationship

This is an absolutely touching story by a former class mate of mine, Rubab Zaidi. Her story inspires those that feel trapped in destructive and abusive relationships that it’s never too early or too late to take a stand for yourself . It may seem like an impossible thing to do at the moment but all it requires is that first step in walking out !

Media Diversified

by Rubab Zaidi

Recently hashtags related to domestic violence were trending on Twitter, #WhyILeft and #WhyIStayed, asking women to come forward with their stories about why they chose to leave or stay in an abusive relationship. I thought it was incredibly brave of people to tell their stories like that – something I have not been able to do, until now. I’ve had a lot to say to the few people who have asked, but I think it’s time to share my story even with those who haven’t asked, especially those women who have gone through, or may still be going through, similar experiences. I know I had no one to help me or guide me, or even to just listen to what I had to say; I had my family of course, but I never got “proper” guidance or support because I just didn’t know it was there.

Rubab Zaidi

To…

View original post 1,326 more words

Leave a Reply

