Street culture at Sole DXB

It’s been a while since I’ve gone out and checked out anything that’s hip or happening, yes motherhood does take a toll into one’s social life, but now finally a whole year later of trying to grasp between motherhood, work and balancing somewhat of a social life, I am now finally getting out there ! Yippee for me 🙂

Anyways, a girlfriend randomly mentioned Sole DXB to me, saying that it reminded her of being in NYC, my fav city, and it was full of pop up trunks, great clothes , mostly shoes – think 90’s cool Reeboks, high tops – and tasty food stalls. No, I could not resist and I’m so glad I actually paid a visit !!!!

I dragged my friend, Ms.VintageTeaPotQueen , an awesome T-shirt designer, to SoleDXB which was held at the Design District, and we were welcomed by the hippest hip hop and RnB sounds, a basketball court filled with adrenalin, and the coolest sneakers that instantly brought me back to my childhood.

Sole DXB splatter booth

There was a Splatter Booth ! Yes, you pick a clear white pair of sneakers and an artist splatters paint all over it ! I just thought it was so cool. How often do you see that happening esp in Dxb !??!!?

Sole DXB sneakers

There was a huge selection of limited edition sneakers from Level 1, a lot of which were comic book inspired. There were loads of classic high tops  on display. Made me want to get into a breakdance beat – yes I secretly imagine I could be part of the Step Up crew – my coordination skills would say otherwise.

Sole DXB sneaker collection

I even found some dude painting this chick’s arm ! Like hello, they even had body art ! Could this place get any cooler ???

Sole DXB body art

There were walls filled with graffiti, creative quotes, and there were even people cycling around in neon colored bicycles. See, if you’re from Dubai, you know this isn’t the norm. Dubai has great buildings, clubs, hotels etc, but to me it’s always missed something real, something from within. This place is just too perfect, it’s been built on an idea of perfection. But with that in mind, it can also lack soul. There’s no place for expression or ingenuity. So paying a visit to DXB Sole was a breath of fresh air. The vibe was urban, laid-back and just so relaxed.

Sole DXB graffiti

I’m really hoping that they made this a yearly thing or atlas every quarterly. For more info get on to http://www.soledxb.com

I’ve disappeared from the social scene but I’m glad to say that I am finally back in. Will def be posting more events sooner than y’all think ! 🙂

Sole DXB

1 Comment

  1. You are so awesome! I do not think I’ve truly read through a single thing like this before.
    So nice to discover somebody with some genuine
    thoughts on this topic. Really.. thank you for starting this up.
    This web site is one thing that’s needed on the internet, someone with
    a little originality!

Leave a Reply

