The Rise of the Keffiyeh Print

IMG_9913The Keffiyeh has long been a symbol of the Palestinian struggle and it’s not uncommon to see activists and protestors wrapped and sheathed with the Keffiyeh. More than just a political statement, several designers such as Givenchy, Cecile Copenhagen and Aziz Bekkaoui have integrated the Keffiyeh prints as a fashion statement.IMG_0029

I have loved Keffiyeh prints for as long as I remember and I was so excited that I managed to find this print in a kimono cardigan-ish style. I was rummaging through one of the stalls at the Global Village at the Kuwait pavilion and found them in various other colors and styles, but this one was my favorite.IMG_0028IMG_0030

IMG_9911

Dotted Long Sleeve White Shirt from MANGO with ripped Denim Jeans from NAVA

IMG_0032

COACH Sneakers paired with the D&G Sicily bag and REISS strapped bracelet

The kimono-digan, yes, I’m creating a new word, is super light and easy to throw on. You can definitely play it up with brighter colors but I wanted to keep this B&W printed Keffiyeh top within a neutral range so I accessorized my hijab and handbag in earthy tones.

I think that as a hijaabi, it’s important to focus on certain elements. I wanted my Keffiyeh kimonodigan to be the main focus, so I made sure my hijaab was a solid print in a neutral color.

-Get The Look-

Long Sleeved White Shirt- Nasty Gal, 3.1 Philip Lim,

Blue Denim Jeans- Vila, GUESS, Topshop

Keffiyeh Top- Cecile Copenhagen, Just Female, Neil Barrett

White Sneakers-  Raf Simons, CONVERSE, SUPERGA, Keds

Strapped Bracelets- Valentino, Saint Laurent

Leave a Reply

